Category: SLIS News

Alumni Accolades

Cristin Dillard (MLIS ‘11)

Cristin Dillard is the new Educational Specialist, Library Media at the Alabama Department of Education. Cristin was a member of the 5th Dimension National Cohort and is a former school librarian and technology leader in Alabama public schools.

Lyda Fontes McCartin (MLIS ’05)

Lyda Fontes McCartin, professor and Head of Information Literacy and Undergraduate Support at the University of Northern Colorado, co-authored Toward a Critical-Inclusive Assessment Practice for Library Instruction with Library Juice Press.

David Nolen (MLIS ’07) (on right in picture above)

David Nolen was awarded the Mississippi Library Association’s 2018 Mississippi Writer’s Award for Non-Fiction for his contributions to The Personal Memoirs of Ulysses S. Grant: The Complete Annotated Edition. The book also received a 2017 Army Historical Foundation Distinguished Writing Award. Nolen is the associate editor for the Grant Presidential Library (housed at MSU), as well as associate professor and reference librarian at Mississippi State University.

Jennifer Powell (MLIS ‘15) (pictured on left above with author Jason Reynolds)

Jennifer Powell, school librarian at Tarrant (AL) High School, received the 2018 Teen Read Week™ Activity Grant from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). Check out her blog post here, detailing her plans to coordinate a school-wide read of Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds.


Alan Samry (MLIS ’17)

Alan Samry published Stump the Librarian: A Writer’s Book of Legs with Intellect Publishing this year. Alan is a part-time public librarian at the Fairhope Public Library and an adjunct instructor at the Coastal Alabama Community College. He also has an active blog.

Faculty and Alumni Published in Latest Issue of Library Trends

Congratulations to our faculty and alumni featured in the Summer 2018 issue of Library Trends, “Race and Ethnicity in Library and Information Science: An Update.”

SLIS assistant professor Dr. Miriam Sweeney published “Are We Still Transmitting Whiteness? A Case Study of a Southern, Rural Library’s Youth Collections” with Meredith E. Wickham (MLIS ’16), director of the First Regional Library System in north Mississippi. This article contains a case study of a rural, southern library and analyzes whether or not Whiteness pervades the library’s youth collections. Wickham and Sweeney argue that library collections are sites of social power and this understanding should shape collection development, especially in small, rural public libraries.

SLIS adjunct instructor Jaena Alabi (MLIS ’06), a reference and instruction librarian at Auburn University, contributed “From Hostile to Inclusive: Strategies for Improving the Racial Climate of Academic Libraries.” In the article, Alabi argues that despite initiatives to increase diversity within LIS, there has been little improvement, especially in academic libraries.  Her article discusses possible steps white academic librarians can take to include their colleagues of color, as well as to address and prevent the myriad racial microaggressions they face every day.

Makiba J. Foster, (MLIS ’07) assistant chief librarian at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library, wrote “Navigating Library Collections, Black Culture, and Current Events,” in which she discussed the Schomburg Center’s efforts to use their archival collection to educate visitors about the historical roots of modern discussions of race, especially the difficulties and danger of traveling while Black.

MFA Book Arts Student Recounts Summer Research Travel in Featured Blog

Jillian Sico, MFA in the Book Arts student, is currently featured on University of Alabama’s Capstone International Center website in a post that captures her experiences during a Summer 2018 research trip to Mexico. Sico’s travel was funded in part by the School of Library and Information Studies (SLIS), the Capstone International Center, and the Graduate School. This is just one of many SLIS examples of funded travel for our students. Learn more about the opportunities available for student travel by speaking to any faculty member or the SLIS office.

Book Arts MFA Candidates Share Research and Creative Projects

On Friday, October 12, five MFA in Book Arts students presented their independent creative research from the summer of 2018. Here are some snapshots from the event!

Jillian SicoPapermaking and Artist Books in Mexico;

Cheri Marks, Maggie Minor, and Reilly CoxFloral and Break; and

Sarah ScarrStart at the Block Books and Take a Hard Left: a bifurcated exploration of hand-made books for the masses.


Artist Book Exhibition Featuring Small Craft Advisory Press Opens

SLIS is happy to announce the opening of “Small Craft Advisory Press: A Decade of Collaboration,” the latest exhibition in the Gorgas Library Fifth Floor Gallery. Small Craft Advisory Press is an artist book press at Florida State University’s Facility for Arts Research in Tallahassee, Florida. Their mission is to enable artists and scholars to create collaborative artist book editions that push the boundaries and traditions of the book arts. Since its founding in 2009, it has produced twenty unique editions which are held in collections all over the world. Visitors are welcome to enjoy the gallery during Gorgas Library operating hours.