Author: Steven Yates

Congratulations May 2019 Graduates!

Earlier this month, SLIS celebrated the commencement of these promising MLIS graduates:

Alanna Barnett Cole

Kaylen Bradberry

A. Blake Denton

Samuel Edge

Rebecca Grantham

Santana Harmon

Kim Hudson

Emily Johannes

Melanie Laurance

Huapu Liu

Connor Marullo

Susan Matlock

Emma McQuiston

Sally Meek

Christopher Ortega

Kaitlyn Ray

Russell Robbins

Caitlin Russell

Kristen Schloss

Allison Schwartz

Tiffany Scrogham

Christopher Smith

Christine Stevens

Patricia Strickland

Sofia Thomas

Annie Tsai Gomez

Nicole Tudor

Jared Wasson

Alyssa Williams

Mercedes Zabawa

We wish you all the best of luck in happy and fulfilling careers and hope you will stay in touch!

Hengyi Fu Joins the MLIS Faculty at SLIS

The University of Alabama School of Library and Information Studies is pleased to announce the appointment of Hengyi Fu as Assistant Professor in the MLIS program. Fu’s primary research interests are located at the intersection of online communities, knowledge curation, and human-computer interaction. A graduate of Florida State University’s School of Information, she successfully defended her dissertation “Dynamics of Peer Production of Knowledge in Online Social Q&A Communities: A Life-Cycle Perspective of Successful and Failed Cases” earlier this year. Additionally, she holds master’s degrees in computer science and information science with a specialization in data curation and social-technical data analytics. She will teach courses in information technology access, data science, and human-computer interaction. You may learn more about Professor Fu at

Honors Day 2019 in Review

The School of Library and Information Studies hosted students, alumni, family, and faculty to recognize our outstanding MLIS and Book Arts students for Honors Day on April 5, 2019, at a ceremony on the fifth floor of Gorgas Library. Attendees enjoyed greetings by Dr. Mark Nelson, Dean of the College of Communication and Information Sciences, and an address on Book and Publication Arts from alumna Inge Bruggeman, Assistant Professor and Area Head Book & Publication Arts and the Black Rock Press at the University of Nevada, Reno. Please join us in congratulating these deserving recipients.

Bethel Fite Endowed Scholarships for Part-Time Students

Awarded to a part-time student pursuing an MLIS degree. The recipient was selected through faculty nomination and presented by Dr. Robert Riter.

The 2019 recipient is Shakera Stanley.

Corr Scholarship

Awarded to students currently enrolled in SLIS and pursuing specializations in school or youth services. The recipient was selected by School Media/Youth services faculty and presented by Dr. Jamie Naidoo and Dr. Steven Yates.

The 2019 recipient is Mary Beth Keenan.

SLIS Faculty Scholar Award

Awarded to a SLIS student on basis of service to the School, academic excellence, and professional promise. The recipient was selected through faculty nominations and a faculty vote and presented by Dr. Robert Riter and Dr. Jeff Weddle.

The 2019 recipient is Jillian Sico.

Florine Oltman Award

Awarded to students currently enrolled in SLIS and pursuing specializations in special libraries. The recipient is selected by Special Libraries Faculty and presented by Professor Sybil Bullock and Dr. Steven MacCall.

The 2019 recipient is Alanna Barnett Cole.

Raymond F. McClain Book Arts Award

Awarded to a Book Arts student on the basis of academic/creative excellence, demonstrated leadership, and professional promise. The recipient was selected by Book Arts faculty and presented by Professor Sarah Bryant and Professor Anna Embree.

The 2019 recipient is Jillian Sico.

Student Paper Award

Awarded to best paper written in fulfillment of a SLIS course requirement during the past academic year. The recipient was selected from student submissions, which were reviewed by a committee of three faculty members and the award was presented by committee chair, Dr. John Burgess, with Dr. Miriam Sweeney, and Dr. Jeff Weddle.

The 2019 recipient is Craig Guild.

Nominees for Beta Phi Mu Honor Society

Established in 1948 by a group of leading librarians and library educators, Beta Phi Mu was established to recognize and encourage scholastic achievement among library and information studies students. Students are nominated by faculty vote. Nominees were announced by James Gilbreath, President of the Beta Kappa Chapter of Beta Phi Mu.

The 2019 nominees:
Kristen Adams

Damaris Azan

Edmund Balzer

Justin Barkley

Virginia Collins

Pamela Ewing

Jennifer Fain

Holly Flores

Holly Gunlefinger

Jennifer Hitzke

Rachel Joiner

Beth Keene

Eliscia Kinder

Miles Kurosky

Eva Lynch

Willandra Mahand

Corley May

Christine Moynihan

Kaitlin Poole

Michael Price

Hannah Pryor

Holly Ragland

Katherine Rashid

Christine Remenih

Debra Richards-Flint

Ashton Rigdon

John Sanders

Melanie Simms

Alexandra Smith

Laken Smith

Dan Tang

Kate Thompson

Kristen Watts

Julianna Waynick

Kelsea Whaley

Joseph Wright

SLIS Community Partner Bob Friedman Receives Campus Recognition

Pictured above (from left): Bob Friedman, Director of the BBRM, with Dr. Robert Riter, Assistant Professor and Archives Coordinator.

Each spring, the Council on Community-Based Partnerships recognizes excellence in community-based scholarship. Students, faculty, staff and UA community partners are honored for outstanding research. Past projects have ranged widely, including health care, education, science and technology, art, literature, and special needs. Recipients are nominated by associates and peers.

This spring, SLIS nominated community partner Bob Friedman and the Birmingham Black Radio Museum (BBRM) for the Excellence Award for Outstanding Community Partner-Initiated Engagement Effort. Along with the award, the BBRM and SLIS were awarded $2,000 in seed funds for their “Mapping Birmingham Black Radio” project.

From the April 17, 2019 Community-Based Partnerships Award Luncheon Program: “The Birmingham Black Radio Museum (BBRM) is a community-based museum dedicated to preserving the history of Birmingham black radio and the pioneering role of broadcasters in supporting Civil Rights activities. A significant Alabama cultural heritage institution, the BBRM places particular emphasis on capturing endangered narratives through oral history. In his role as founder and director, Bob Friedman has secured multiple grants from national organizations to support the museum’s mission. As a result of his efforts, the BBRM has been invited to join Library of Congress consortia dedicated to preservation of radio. Additionally, in his role as mentor, Friedman has provided opportunities through partnerships with UA’s School of Library and Information Studies to prepare generations of students to responsibly and ethically preserve cultural heritage while utilizing socially conscious best practices.” Learn more about the BBRM here.

Burgess Marks the Publication of Information Ethics Title

SLIS congratulates Assistant Professor Dr. John T. F. Burgess on the publication of Foundations of Information Ethics, a title he edited with Dr. Emily J. M. Knox for ALA-Neal Schuman. Dr. Burgess also contributed two chapters to the book, “Principles and Concepts in Information Ethics” and “History of Ethics in the Information Professions.” The book is a collection of essays by leading experts in the field of information ethics, providing an entrance into current scholarship in information ethics, and is written for both researchers and practitioners. At SLIS Dr. Burgess teaches Research Methods and Academic Librarianship, and in Fall 2019 will offer the course Information Ethics for the LIS Profession.

Pictured below: Dr. Burgess adds Foundations of Information Ethics to the SLIS Faculty Publications display.