Alumni Accolades

Cristin Dillard (MLIS ‘11)

Cristin Dillard is the new Educational Specialist, Library Media at the Alabama Department of Education. Cristin was a member of the 5th Dimension National Cohort and is a former school librarian and technology leader in Alabama public schools.

Lyda Fontes McCartin (MLIS ’05)

Lyda Fontes McCartin, professor and Head of Information Literacy and Undergraduate Support at the University of Northern Colorado, co-authored Toward a Critical-Inclusive Assessment Practice for Library Instruction with Library Juice Press.

David Nolen (MLIS ’07) (on right in picture above)

David Nolen was awarded the Mississippi Library Association’s 2018 Mississippi Writer’s Award for Non-Fiction for his contributions to The Personal Memoirs of Ulysses S. Grant: The Complete Annotated Edition. The book also received a 2017 Army Historical Foundation Distinguished Writing Award. Nolen is the associate editor for the Grant Presidential Library (housed at MSU), as well as associate professor and reference librarian at Mississippi State University.

Jennifer Powell (MLIS ‘15) (pictured on left above with author Jason Reynolds)

Jennifer Powell, school librarian at Tarrant (AL) High School, received the 2018 Teen Read Week™ Activity Grant from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). Check out her blog post here, detailing her plans to coordinate a school-wide read of Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds.


Alan Samry (MLIS ’17)

Alan Samry published Stump the Librarian: A Writer’s Book of Legs with Intellect Publishing this year. Alan is a part-time public librarian at the Fairhope Public Library and an adjunct instructor at the Coastal Alabama Community College. He also has an active blog.